Loyalty, Service and Dedication

Ever since I was a Nursing student, I was already a member of the Medical Missions, Incorporated/MMI. As a brief introduction, MMI has 3 branches: the MMI proper, MMI-Student Group, and the MMI-Nursing Group. Now that I am in Med, I pursued to become a member of the Student group instead of joining other organizations or sororities in the Faculty.

When I was in Nursing, I went to a lot of Medical missions with MMI, including our summer missions in Legazpi and Dagupan. I also had the chance to join several minor missions in Bulacan and Katipunan. But that was way back 2014.

I was super excited when they messaged me and asked me to become the Assistant Team Leader for this Minor Medical-Surgical mission in Bataan. Of course, I couldn’t refuse. It was a surgical mission! (though minor) plus, I was the ATL. 😀 I couldn’t wait to take part in missions again!

Of course, it took a lot of determination in order to be chosen as one of the team members. I had to work, work and work to earn those points. Although I’ve been asked to join to previous missions, I had to refuse because of conflict in my schedule (there’s a long exam or a Saturday Clin Ep class). This is the first time that I’m kinda free on the scheduled day of the mission 🙂

Another thing that got me excited was that the Nursing Group will be composed of my fellow batchmates/RNs! I used to go to missions with them when we were still nursing students, but now we’ll be going as RNs and medical students!

With Agneiz, Frame and Harvey!
with Frame, Harvey and Carreen
with MMI-NG along with Sir Torres and Ma’am Manzarate!
with my Ates from MMI-NG, Ate Kat and Ate Charm 🙂 
Some members of the team with Dr. Orlina and Dra. Olalia

Of course, not only will the experience of interacting with patients give me advantage among other first year students but I will also be serving my fellowmen! Indeed, there is no other great feeling of fulfilment after every mission I attend to.

So, here’s what happened during our mission in Bataan 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Processed with VSCOcam with c8 preset
My first mission as part of MMI-SG!

It’s been a long time since I performed circumcision so I had to observe again and ask for key points before I did the procedure on my own again. I’m quite satisfied with my performance since my patient did not experience pain or did not complain throughout the procedure 😂. I think I did my sutures pretty well too. haha! Since I already experienced circumcising before, I gave the chances to others and only did it once in the mission.

Processed with VSCOcam with c7 preset
With my team members from MMI-SG 🙂
Processed with VSCOcam with c7 preset
With the whole Bataan team! Job well done guys!!

I am very thankful to be given this opportunity to serve my fellowmen once again. Though I wasn’t able to fully give the services I can do, it’s still a great and fulfilling experience. I’m very grateful to the surgical residents who taught me willingly, when I didn’t even ask them to. And also to the whole team, who were all very responsible and kind to follow me as their assistant team leader, even though I’m younger than all of them. I’m looking forward to more missions with MMI, and hopefully I can join them in their upcoming missions this summer. *fingers crossed!*

One thought on “Loyalty, Service and Dedication

Leave a Reply

