My Bambang Haul

It’s been soooo long since I posted my last blog. I’ve been very busy in my “summer” vacation (not really summer because it was June already). Anyway, I’ll try to share what I’ve been up to and hopefully finish it before school starts again!


First thing I would like to share would be our trip to Bambang! I am very fond of buying school supplies/materials, so I can’t help but share this. 😁

In preparation for our Medicine 1 course, we were required to buy Med Bags. These contain the paraphernalias that we would use when doing physical examination as well as other consumables. Severel sororities/fraternities have been offering these med bags for 1,200-1,400 pesos each, excluding the stethoscope, sphygmomanometer/BP cuff and pulse oximeter. But my Mama and I decided to just visit Bambang and buy these stuff ourselves. (Tipid! πŸ‘πŸΌ) I included the pictures and prices below for reference πŸ™‚

P1300182

We went to Mac Tycoon (Bambang branch) because my Mama’s friend told her that they sell cheaper there compared to the smaller stores. For the list of things to buy, I followed the one that the sors/frats were offering. These are the MUST-BUY’s

  1. Tuning Fork (without bell) – 170 pesos
  2. Reflex Hammer (with brush) – 170 pesos
  3. Allen and Irving Penlight150 pesos (You can buy a cheaper penlight which costs 60 pesos only. I decided to buy this one because it has pupil sizes and a ruler)P1300193
  4. Retractable Tape Measure – 25 pesos
  5. Digital Thermometer – 60 pesos
  6. Masterguard Sterile Gloves – 10 pesos/pair
  7. Tongue Depressor – pesos each
  8. 1-inch Micropore – 35 pesos
  9. 1/2-inch Micropore – 20 pesos (I wasn’t sure about the required size, so I just bought both sizes)
  10. Cotton Balls*
  11. Alcohol*
  12. Visual Acuity Chart – (This wasn’t available on the stores that I went to, so I wasn’t able to buy one)
  13. 6-inch ruler*

*I didn’t buy these because they’re available at home. Haha

Higher years recommended that we don’t need to buy the Med bags anymore because a belt bag would be much useful when we have our hospital duty. But if you still like to buy one, it only costs 150 pesos πŸ˜‰ If you total everything on the list, it would only cost around 640-750 pesos!! 


Some of the things that I bought were not required. I just bought them because it can be very useful during missions and also because I still have my old ones I used during my Nursing days (such as penlight, thermometer, stethoscope and BP cuff/sphygmomanometer). These are the NOT REQUIRED ONES:

Yuwell Infrared Thermometer – 1,800 pesos (Okay, so this is not the recommended one to buy. A regular thermometer will do. πŸ™‚  But I got this one because again, it’s very useful during missions and our hospital duties in the future).

P1300195

P1300196

Pulse Oximeter – 900 pesos

Some brands cost 1,200-1,800 pesos, but they all work the same so I just bought the cheapest one I could find. And of course, I had to hunt for a pink one. Hehehe

Welch Alynn Otoscope/Ophthalmoscope (Single-Handle) – 13, 800 pesos

This is usually required to have as a group, but I decided to buy my own because this would be very useful on our Starkey Missions in MMI.  It can be both an Otoscope and Ophthalmoscope.

 

And there you have it! I hope this helps when you buy your stuff for Med 1. If you don’t have time to go to Bambang, you can just buy the ones offered by the sororities/fraternities. But if you’re nagtitipid and would like to save that money for other stuff, then this would be a good reference πŸ™‚ Like I said earlier, this is not the required list of things to buy. You can buy a cheaper kind or a different brand, it depends on you. Just make sure that it can last long so you won’t have to visit Bambang often. πŸ˜„

2 thoughts on “My Bambang Haul

Leave a Reply

